I’m sitting waiting for the other half of this morning’s work meeting to show up given Boston’s snow & traffic, and thinking random thoughts like:

It used to snow this much when I was a kid, so the fact that global warming has now brought it bag should be no big deal.  Except I didn’t have to shovel it then.

The urban v. suburban cultural differences at work aren’t just race but class and gender-based, and the intersections in trying to build a company culture is…interesting and treacherous.

Adulthood is about not just accepting but embracing the fact that you will “disappoint” your parents’ ambitions for you, and that it’s their problem, not yours.  Which doesn’t mean you can’t try to break that news to them gently, but you don’t have to coddle them either.  There was a more long- winded version of this post in my head at some point, but this is the sum of it now.

I’ve been reading my beloved SciFi novels in between business reads.   Station Eleven is not typical SciFi, and it’s a great standalone read even if you don’t think you like post-apocalyptic reads, because it’s really about people.  Good stuff.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Dawn

    re: snow. I’m going to lose all of my snow chops pretty soon. Moved south of Chicago and we haven’t seen much in the last couple years. (the north could keep the sub-arctic temps we got a few weeks ago, though–I don’t miss THAT in the least!)

    I’ll admit, I had not seen much of a difference in mindset or many other differences between people from the city and people who live in the suburbs, so that is thought-provoking. Discussions about commutes, maybe. In my last job, my biggest issue with the suburban-living bosses was getting them to understand that yes, I need to make that bus; there is no other way for me to leave the back of nowhere you decided to lease your office in; the next bus is more than an hour away and there is no way in hell I am standing on that corner in the dark or lurking about an empty office building for that long; yes, I do have to be at the stop 5-10 minutes before it’s scheduled to arrive since once in a blue moon, it’s early and see above comments; and, no, none of my coworkers have my hours or live close enough to me to give me a lift on a regular basis. None of my other more suburban jobs had that problem with my means of travel. (after I was gone, an interesting sub-culture popped up when the company was bought out and the new owners made noises about drug tests… I’m told a number of my former coworkers got rather alarmed at that news! And most of them did not live in the big city, which is the stereotype, is it not?)

    Reply
    1. She Curmudgeon Post author

      It’s been like that, the lack of awareness, but not just applied to the commute. Social life, prices in supermarkets, cultural differences, everything. There is a lot of privilege, and shaking it up is not easy, because they mean well and no one has challenged them on it before, much less someone who seems (seems) to share their background

      Reply
  2. magpiemusing

    i am looking forward to station eleven. i gave it to my husband for christmas, and he is only just now reading it… i should have snatched it a month ago but it seemed wrong to read his present before he had…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

