Not just any pancake

The husband can cook.  Very well, in fact.  He is a breakfast cook extraordinaire.  His omelets?  You should be so lucky to be the recipient of his egg cookery.  Trust me on this.  He gave me (while I was dating another man, no less) my copies of Mastering the Art of French Cooking one Christmas.  He’s also an excellent baker.  (Just don’t expect him not to use every pot in the kitchen.)

So, when I was looking at Amanda Hesser’s website, food52, and saw David Eyre’s Pancake there as a preview of the new Essential New York Times Cookbook, I thought to myself, “Self, this is what we’re having for breakfast tomorrow.”  And promptly handed the recipe over to my Better Half.  Because I stink at making pancakes.

Yep.  I am made of pancake fail.  You heard it here first.

But the husband?  He is not.  He can also make waffles.  And sometimes?  The gluten is worth it.  These pancakes most definitely are worth it.  Cut into fourths, sprinkled with a little lemon juice and coated with powdered (or superfine, because that’s what we had) sugar– mmmm.  Delicious.  A recipe worth the book’s price of admission, I think.

Truly.  There’s a reason we’ve been married for 10 years this coming week.

Well, that and the opening jars thing.

7 thoughts on “Not just any pancake

  1. magpie

    That pancake has been a house staple ever since it first appeared in the Times. It was also one of the first recipes I taught my husband. We usually skip the lemon juice/powdered sugar – I prefer a dollop of jam.

    Reply
  2. Irish Goddess

    Oh, how I love the Dutch Baby. And nice to see/read you again, too. As you have put your JD on mothballs, I have inched closer to mine – February 2012 bar. A bookseller? My dream job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

