Shakshuka and more of the poached egg chronicles (but Jenn, just add more feta)

Deb at Smitten Kitchen had this recipe for Shakshuka, an Israeli Spicy Tomato Stew with Poached Eggs that I really wanted to try.  See, it looked really easy, a one pot dish that you built by layering flavors, and when the stew was basically done, you popped in a few eggs and poached them in the cooked liquid, then spooned them out into bowls, sprinkled them over with feta and parsley and voila, BOOM, dinner.

See?  Doesn’t it look just yummy?

It was just that easy, and ooh, it was awesome.  Especially because I tried this new Rhode Island feta that I bought at the Dedham Whole Foods.  But for those of you who don’t like poached eggs, the stew base is delicious and spicy and yum.   I made it with 2 jalapenos, not three, and did the jalapenos, not the Anaheim Chiles.  If you’re not a fan of poached eggs,  you could totally poach some fish or scallops or shrimp in the liquid, or just add more feta.  (Yes, Jenn, I tried it without the egg for breakfast this morning.  It’s awesome without the egg and just a little more cheese.)

I did deviate from Deb’s recipe in one way.  She suggests you serve it with pita, and I didn’t do that since I’m trying to get back to gluten-free eating.  What I did instead is make socca.

Socca?  What’s this?  It’s chickpea-flour flatbread, made from Bob’s Red Mill chickpea flour I bought at my co-op.  Bob’s rocks, plain and simple.  I keep the open packages in the freezer in a ziploc after they’re open, since the bean flours tend to go rancid.  Here’s what it looked like, after it baked.

My recipe is based on the one in Fran McCullough’s Living Low Carb, page 135.  Since I modified it a bit, I’ll post it here.

1 cup room temperature water
2/3 c chickpea flour
3 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp salt
5-6 grinds fresh black pepper
Penzey’s rosemary powder and/or finely chopped dried or fresh rosemary needles, at least 1/4 tsp.

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, whisking until all lumps are gone.  Let sit for one hour.

Preheat oven to 500F.  In something smaller than a sheet pan (this is why mine looks uneven and ragged, all the right pans for this recipe happened to be dirty last night)– you want something more like a round pizza pan or a 10-12 inch oven-proof skillet, oil the pan with more olive oil, pour the batter, then put it in to bake until set, approx. 6 minutes.

Turn on the broiler, take out the socca and spray/drizzle the top with more oil before putting it under the heat to crisp until golden brown, 3-5 minutes.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper if you like (I didn’t, because I like my batter pre-seasoned, I don’t think it needs any more), cut into wedges, and serve.

4 thoughts on “Shakshuka and more of the poached egg chronicles (but Jenn, just add more feta)

  1. magpie

    yum yum yum. i’ve been wanting to make socca for a long time – i actually just unearthed a recipe from the great pile of printed-out but not sorted or tried.
    (the rhubarb cake/pie that came from the same pile was not a keeper.)
    .-= magpie´s last blog ..Visiting Popsicornia =-.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

