Jingle bells, Santa smells, I’m headed off to work…

Yep.  Workin’ Christmas Eve.

But that’s okay.  You know why?

I baked.  Cookies.  Lots of ’em.  I made my traditional Fine Cooking butter cookies with raspberry jam filling and frosting.  And chocolatey cookies sprinkled with salt from Barbara Lynch’s cookbook Stir.  (Run, don’t walk, make these cookies.)  And the best toffee you will ever eat, ever.

That’s right– recipe links.  In case you needed some last minute projects.

Bring on the holiday shoppers.  I have sugar, I will not be stopped.  I will smile at you and you will like it, you last minute shopper.

Also?  I have a rockin’ red $4.97 long-sleeved snowman tee-shirt with rainbow-colored spangles I picked up at Sears, because I told everyone at work I would bake if everyone wore Weasley sweaters or ugly, sparkly holiday gear.  I’ma gonna wear it with my denim skirt and my festive red clogs.

I might even bust out the antler headband.  It’s Christmas.  Magic might happen.

Wish me luck.  And lots of hassle-free returns.

7 thoughts on “Jingle bells, Santa smells, I’m headed off to work…

  1. sara

    I’ve got a chocolate cookie recipe that’s very similar, but it adds chunks of dried apricot and shredded coconut. Sounds weird, but it’s REALLY GOOD. I think it has an egg in it too.
    .-= sara´s last blog ..Article Link =-.

    Reply
  2. Dawn

    Merry Christmas to you and yours! And I wish you very few returns even if they are hassle free.

    I’ve been informed that on top of doing some of the family baking (experimental peanut butter–don’t ask, pecan balls, and butterscotch cookies), I must help my sister frost sugars and gingerbreads tomorrow! But she made 2 kinds of chocolate goodies with me in mind, so I suppose I should be cooperative…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

