OMG!

The Backstreet Boys have a new song! Why did nobody tell me this until I was listening to the Top 40 radio station in my car?!?

Yes, I AM totally serious about being excited. I am unashamed about my love for the Backstreet Boys, Britney Spears, and Kelly Clarkson. I will have you know that I can recognize a song penned by Kevin Richardson (the older, dark-haired one, and a Broadway actor in his own right) before the first melodic “Ye-ah,” thank you very much– doesn’t matter if it’s Celine Dion or someone else I’d never otherwise listen to singing it. And I once heard LIONEL RICHIE sing a KR-penned song. Bliss, I tell you. Pure bliss.

Come on. You’ve watched American Idol, or reality TV, or eaten squirt cheese or whipped cream straight from the can at least once in your life, right? And you LIKED it. Admit it. I bet you’ve even acknowledged the awesomeness of Cool Whip right out of the freezer, straight, on a spoon. Oh, wait, maybe that one’s just me.

I will admit “Boys” is perhaps not the best name for them anymore (check out Howie’s receding hairline in the video, which has lesbian vampires, and spinny dance moves, and NO KEVIN RICHARDSON AAAAAH HE WAS MY FAVORITE, what does he MEAN he wants to have a family and life???) but still– there’s melody, and a dance beat, and MAN, this brings me back to virgin daiquiris at the Bahama Beach Club in Saugus.

Ye-ah.

Leave a Reply

