Bean-curious

The multi-talented Melanie BeanPaste has an adjunct cooking blog named BeanPlate, and starting shortly, she (and me, and several other talented contributors) will be posting 30 days of bean recipes.  Because my paycheck v. my debts = hill of beans.  And come on, all those health nuts say we should all be eating more beans anyway.

Melanie’s BeanPaste site is replete with great recipes written prior to BeanPlate, and BeanPlate, while still in its infancy, is already a great resource for tasty recipes that anyone (really) can cook.  Plus, affordable is always good, since even with Obama in the White House, we’re all going to need to tighten our belts.  I mean, I just got my student loan interest rate increase notice.  Yikes.

Lentils and chickpeas and white beans, oh my.  Maybe even some edamame and black beans.  They’re cheap, and they will be tasty.  I promise.

12 thoughts on “Bean-curious

  1. CTJen

    I love beans, but I wish I had better luck with dried beans. They always seem to need to cook for hours and hours and hours and hours and hours before they’re soft enough for consumption. :-/

    Reply
  2. g

    Oh, I will be visiting. I love beans of all kinds!!! Yum. Am making some quickie black beans tonight to go with some chicken enchiladas.

    CT Jen – be sure they’re fresh, not old. Soak overnight or there are ways to quick-soak them. Don’t add salt or acid until they are as cooked as you want them – both salt and acid keep them from cooking soft.

    gs last blog post..Detour into history

    Reply
  3. Allison

    Looking forward to it! I generally eat a fair amount of beans. Pureed black beans simmered with an onion and spices, and then topped with creamy, cool chunks of avocado and shredded cheddar is a favorite. Cheap and minimal effort, too. I’ve switched from canned to dried – dried is not only cheaper, but canned often includes salt and preservatives.

    Allison

    Allisons last blog post..Choosing a House of Worship

    Reply

Leave a Reply

