Attitude of Gratitude

Schmutzie has a post about keeping in mind, every day, that there are things large and small to be grateful for. Not in a Pollyanna-ish way.  I used to keep a gratitude journal– a separate notebook full of things I was thankful for.  Over time, though, I found myself forgetting it, or juggling it with other diaries I carried around, and so, I forgot to be grateful, in between trying to keep track of everything I’d made so complicated for myself.  I’m going to try to remember, now, to just write down something to be grateful for every day in the “everything” notebook I try to carry around.

I never wrote down larger stuff– that was for single subject essays, or posts here.  It was little things, like “a seat to myself on the train,” or “a smile from the man across from me on the bus.”

Today, it’s my new Irish flannel bathrobe, with the blue ticking stripe.  It’s the first new robe I’ve had in almost ten years.

8 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude

  1. Mariposa

    When we think about it, there so many things to be grateful for…yet, sometimes, we have to consciously remind ourselves to be grateful always…if you get what I mean! LOL
    I also try to make a list of Things I’m Grateful For…and joining Thankful Thursdays also helps me keep track!

    Sorry I’d been away….my schedules is still a mess! Thanks for the visit!

    Mariposas last blog post..High Five!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

