Sauteed salmon with lime butter leeks and pea tendrils

Salmon, seasoned with lemon pepper seasoning from Penzey’s, and salt, sauteed in 1 tbsp. grapeseed oil, 1 tbsp. butter, on both sides. Served with 2 Boston Organics leeks, softened in 2 tbsp. butter, salt, pepper, and Penzey’s powdered rosemary. (I would bathe in that stuff if I could.) Add 1/2 lb. of pea tendrils, the zest and juice of two limes, and cover, tossing after 2 mins. and occasionally until wilted.

This was the first time I’d ever cooked pea tendrils, and they were a little meh, kind of like peas crossed with green beans and spinach. I should’ve cut the tendrils into two inch pieces, rather than left them long. The long little tendrils, dangling down my throat as I chewed? Yeah, I would trim them, too. I don’t know if I would buy them again, since they were wicked expensive, but there’s a first time for everything, even vegetables that go all Little Shop of Horrors inside your mouth.

9 thoughts on “Sauteed salmon with lime butter leeks and pea tendrils

  1. Kaza

    Oh good lord how yummy looking. I want to eat my screen. Good to know on the pea tendrils. I was so jealous that you can actually find them (I’m now stranded in the sticks so not a tendril to be found), and then relieved to hear they didn’t pass muster.

    Awesome new site, congrats.

    Kazas last blog post..Say Hello to My Leetle Frieend….

    Reply
  2. Angelina

    Wow- maybe I could skip the pea tendrils but the treatment of the leeks with lime, butter, salt, and pepper sounds so good my mouth is watering right now! What else could be good in that? You know what I have right now that sounds like it might be good in that side? Fresh fava beans. Or wait: put the leeks (with exactly the same seasonings) and favas over pasta and add parmesan curls!!!!!!

    Angelinas last blog post..

    Reply
  3. Alison

    “Meh” is exactly what I thought of the pea tendrils that came in my farm/CSA box but I like your ideas for next time we have some. What I love about the farm box is that it gets me to try things I would never shell out for, or that I know the rest of my family doesn’t like (ie rhubarb). Also what is Boston Organics? I’m way over here on the other coast, Sacramento CA, so not familar…

    Reply
  4. LawyerChick

    Pea tendrils are among my favorite vegetables! But I can see how they wouldn’t be too good if they weren’t trimmed well. Generally you want to trim ALL the fibrous stems off, so you are cooking only the ends. (Pea tendrils are also called “pea tips” for god reason – because only the tips are tasty!)

    If you ever decide to try them again – and I hope you give them another chance – try flash sauteeing them in a little vegetable oil and a touch of garlic and salt. They cook REALLY fast, much faster than spinach or any other leafy green and they are quite delicate, so take them off when they start to look bright green.

    Or, try steaming them very lightly and dressing with sesame oil and a teeny bit of soy or salt.

    Now, I need suggestions from you and your readers: We got a bunch of filet ends of tuna and salmon, what to do with them? Full story at my dog blog – http://www.biggiezblog.blogspot.com – thought we were buying fish bones for the dog, and ended up with beautiful chunks of fish. Sure, the dog will get some, but I want to eat them too!

    LawyerChicks last blog post..Filial Piety Tour: Days 1-2 (flying to Seoul)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

