Mrs. BLC’s Secret Girlfriends, Part 2

Ok, this is the unabashed Cover Girl edition of Mrs. BLC’s Secret Girlfriends, because really, how can you not love Queen Latifah and Drew Barrymore? I mean, really…

Picture courtesy of Google Images.

Did you not see Chicago, and her show-stealing number? Mama’ll be good to you, indeed. She was the first rapper I ever liked, before M.C. Lyte or Salt N’ Pepa– “Ladies First” was all about the positivity, y’see, and the Queen has never stopped being about that. You never hear Ms. Owens talking smack about anyone in public, or ever taking the “woe is me” track when talking about her own life– she doesn’t need to. She is a lady, and she just glows. She is savvy, and has parlayed her singing and rapping into successive TV shows, movies, and albums. She works, and she works it– she just keeps going, moving forward. I don’t always like her movie choices, but hey– they keep coming, and she keeps succeeding. And I love seeing her as a model, since it’s clear she’s not a Q-Tip of a woman. The Queen is someone who, if someone brought you down, she’d cheer you up in a second and tell you a dirty joke to make you laugh. And her presence drowns out all those sorry bastards who made you sad. All Hail the Queen!

Then there’s Drew. As my husband says, “She can rescue any movie she’s in. She can act opposite a paper bag and still make it worth seeing.”

Google Images, again.

I love Drew for the same reason I love the Queen. She is not afraid of living, even if you don’t always agree with her choices. She has a zeal for life, and while she makes mistakes, sometimes in really public ways, she picks herself up, dusts herself off, and gets going all over again. She knows what she wants, tries to stay true to her ideals, and if she blows something, she admits it and moves on, while trying to learn from the experience. Drew is also someone I’d love to call if I was feeling blue– she’d send me a stripper-gram, or bring me burgers, if that’s what was needed. Plus? I really want her hair. Sorry, I know that’s shallow, but really, with baby-fine, mousy-brown hair? I want her wavy locks. And her advice and laugh, but really, the hair, too.

15 thoughts on “Mrs. BLC’s Secret Girlfriends, Part 2

  1. Al

    Both good choices. I’d toss in Cameron Diaz as well. She’s the ‘Girl Next Door’ and would likely cheer you up by doing something crazy and extra fun.

    Reply
  2. Jenn @ Juggling Life

    Did you see “My Date with Drew?” Talk about an amazing sport–I love her for all the reasons you give. And good for Queen Latifah for losing weight to be “a size healthier,” not a toothpick.

    Reply
  3. andrea

    I would add Mary Louise Parker, Parker Posey, and Tina Fey. These women are smart, sassy (it’s been my word lately), and just very cool!

    Reply
  4. Michelle

    I love Drew Barrymore. I think she is simply fantastic. To top it off I have a friend who could be her – how she looks and some of the the mannerisms..it is fantastic…maybe I can get my friend to send me a stripper-gram the next time I am feeling blue!

    Reply
  5. She She

    I love both of your choices. All Hail The Queen — U.N.I.T.Y.!

    I’d add Kate Winslet. She’s got everything going for her — beauty, talent, humor, that accent. I lurve her.

    Reply
  6. Barbara

    I agree with all of the women listed by you and the above commentors. Sassy, smart and unapologetic are really attractive qualities.

    I say we throw one hell of a dinner party and invite them.

    Reply
  7. CMCB

    I am 100% behind you on Queen Latifah, but I have to admit that Drew Barrymore doesn’t actually do that much for me. . .

    I’ll try to give some thought to other secret girlfriends and get back to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. HerImperialMajesty

    You totally picked my number one secret girlfriend. I ask for Drew Barrymore for Christmas every year, even though i realise that’s degrading and objectifying her to some extent, as if she could become my possession. But she’s ace and aged beautifully and dealt with her issues in the public gaze and yet still seems to be a sweetheart.

    As for Queen L, well, my onscreen moniker should speak for itself! She seems to be most excellent to me. And her personal style is out of sight!

    Have at it in June BipolarLawyerCook. And more power to your cleared MySQL status

    Reply

Leave a Reply

