Eco friendly shampoo?

That won’t give me dandruff?  Ok, GO! (Thanks!)

11 thoughts on “Eco friendly shampoo?

  1. nyjlm

    Lately I’ve been using shampoo/conditioner from Desert Essence.
    I’ve always been curious about bar shampoos, but concern over storage in the shower has kept me from trying them.

    Reply
  2. MamaBird/SurelyYouNest

    For me the conditioner is the critical element in avoiding scalp itchiness, so I am going to give you kind of a circuitous answer. We get the whole foods house brand of shampoo (pretty cheap + has no parabens or sodium laureth sulfate) and then EO Hair Repair, Wild Lime & Ginger conditioner. It’s eco friendly in that the ingredients are ok with the Skin Deep database but it is packaged in 4 oz plastic bottles and is correspondingly ridiculously expensive. But it works well for my DH who has the driest hair on the planet and makes my scalp feel lovely. Things I want to try but haven’t yet: shampoo *bars* to skip the plastic packaging altogether (ie lush, burt’s bees), and/or using just baking soda for shampoo + vinegar for conditioner. HTH

    Reply
  3. CTJen

    Herbal tea +vinegar rinses. Check out this blog post from the Herb Wife’s Kitchen:

    http://crabappleherbs.com/blog/2008/02/01/simple-herbal-hair-care/

    I am in the process of switching from the Chaz Dean (http://www.chazdeanstore.com/) products to the Herb Wife’s method.

    The days when I use the herbal rinse instead of the cleansing conditioner, I feel little or no difference in the level of hair cleanliness. I mean, we aren’t exactly working out in the fields all day, every day. Why on earth does our hair need to be washed with chemicals every day?

    The herbal rinsing method is extremely eco friendly–in addition to eliminating chemical waste in our water, it eliminates packaging waste in our landfills.

    Cheers!

    Reply
  4. Sara

    Giovanni.

    I won’t link to the website because I find it useless, just a bunch of tiresome marketing hype on an irritating Flash base, but you can find this stuff at Whole Foods, any natural foods store, and more and more conventional stores all the time. It has no sodium laurel or laureth sulfate or other harsh, carcinogenic surfactants, so it won’t cause contact dermatitis. It does not contain urea or alcohol, not any kind of alcohol. It’s made mostly of purified water and all-organic plant extracts. It’s not stinky; the scent of the one I use is fresh and light like spearmint and comes from the ingredients themselves, not come from added scent agents such as essential oils to which many people are sensitive in both skin and nose. It’s about eight bucks a bottle, but a bottle lasts me about three months. (I only use about a quarter-teaspoon at a time of the shampoo, and only use the conditioner once or twice a week.)

    I like the “golden wheat” shampoo and the “weightless formula” conditioner. My true love, who has thick, curly, long hair (unlike my nasty, thin, long hair) uses the same products with equal satisfaction. You’re supposed to be able to use this conditioner as a “leave-in” product, but I don’t; my true love does, though. I work it into my hair and scalp, let it sit for a few minutes while I wash the rest of myself, and then rinse it out thoroughly. The shampoo washes completely out. The conditioner washes completely out. Neither dries or inflames my insanely sensitive skin or gunks up my hair and scalp — or my true loves. Neither causes either of us to have dry, split, or frizzy hair.

    This stuff saved my hair, actually. When I worked at Whole Foods and recommended it to equally desperate customers, they all reported back to me with similar success and gratitude. It’s the best shampoo I’ve ever used, bar none, with the best ingredients for both you and the planet that I’ve seen yet.

    Desert Essence contains tea tree oil which is an irritant for sensitive skin. (It literally burns my flesh. My true love uses it in the wash cycle with extremely hot water when cleaning the bedsheets in order to kill dust mites. It’s not gentle stuff, though it is a powerful astringent and disinfectant.) EO tends to favor extremely strong essential oils which can irritate both sensitive skin and sensitive noses. Baking soda and vinegar can fry sensitive skin, especially with prolonged use.

    I love Giovanni.

    Reply
  5. savia

    There’s a brand called “Live Clean” that’s paraben-free and environmentally friendly. I’m pretty sure they have an anti-dandruff formula. A friend of mine has tried a number of organic shampoos and found that many left her hair looking dull and flyaway. She swears by this brand and says it makes her hair look great. And it’s pretty cheap, too – about $7 (CDN) a bottle.

    Reply
  6. Al

    I’ve used shampoo bars in the past but was not so much a fan of the one I tried (but it was from an old classmate who made the stuff at home). It dried my hair out.

    I go back and forth on this one. I spend a shit ton of money on AVEDA because they have a very good environmental ethic but the shampoo I currently have is not all organic. Just mostly.

    Good luck and if I think of anything else, I’ll re-chime…

    Reply
  7. Angelina

    I’m taking notes too because I’m very disturbed by the amount of nasty chemicals in the only shampoo that has ever tamed my flakes (I was told by a dermatologist that I didn’t have dandruff but one of those other issues I can never spell that Selsun Blue helps with). Anyway, I am on a quest to find a great shampoo (or a couple to alternate) that is safe enough to go into my garden if I can ever get a grey water system figured out.

    In any case, I would also like to not be contaminating all of our communal waterways either.

    Vodka? Really?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

