New addiction

I have posted before about the fact that I don’t watch a lot of TV, having not grown up with any cable, and having not been allowed to watch it during most of the day.  We also don’t watch it because we were cheap as all get out when it came to buying cable in a part of the world where it was the only way to get any cable at all.  But, BUT, but…

The Better Half introduced me recently to the addicting evilness that is hulu.com.  Have you seen it?  Entire seasons and entire episodes of television shows, movies, clips from upcoming episodes, almost all with really minimal ads– and without the copyright issues of YouTube or the weird quality.  So, now, as I’ve been working on this project, with lots of downtime, and I mean lots, I have finally gotten the chance to watch some TV.  On a computer screen, sure, but still– on a T1 connection, it doesn’t want for much.  I have become completely addicted to Bones… I lurve me a jujitsu kicking, gun-toting, funky ethnic jewelry-wearing, triple-PhD’d female forensic anthropologist.  And good banter.  And David Boreanz, with his unique ability to do fierce and emo all at once.  And did I mention good banter? Love that.

And Arrested Development.  That’s it, so far.  Anything else I should be on the lookout for?  I may… may… look up some How I Met Your Mother.  I do love me some Neil Patrick Harris.

20 thoughts on “New addiction

  1. Jenn @ Juggling Life

    My god, woman, do you never stop posting?! Two days way, I almost have my Google Reader cleared out and up you pop!

    If you love banter, Grey’s Anatomy is hard to beat. Danger Boy can’t watch it because, “Sheesh, no one talks like this in real life.”

    Reply
  2. Michelle

    I love hulu.com I have watched every single Bones Episode on there, then I moved through the HOUSE episodes and I just finished the Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip Episodes….wonder what’s next?

    Reply
  3. Carol

    Thanks for sharing the link… I may never, ever get any work done ever again because I’ll be busy watching old episodes of Buffy or something *lol*

    Reply
  4. LawyerChick

    Hulu.com scares me. on my recent trip to korea I got caught up on movies and TV shows – got sucked into Pushig Daisies and 30 Rock.

    I (heart) Kenneth the Page. He’s hilarious.

    Reply
  5. Justine

    hulu is wonderful! if you like Bones for the witty banter you make like House as well. my better half and i watch both shows together 🙂

    Reply
  6. Cheri

    I’m trying to get off the granola, the Google Reader has taken over my life, and you gotta tell me about hulu. Crap. I do nothing in moderation, so I’m sunk.

    I love Dexter. Don’t know if it is on hulu or not.

    Reply
  7. Al

    How I Met Your Mother is quite entertaining. I’m also a small fan of Moonlight (that vampire dude is HAWT) and Men in Trees (full of HAWT dudes- see the connection here on how I pick my shows. You can mute them and they’re still good. 😉

    I’m headed there now…

    Reply
  8. Meegan

    How I Met Your Mother is one of the funniest shows on television. It is, unfortunately, also one of the most unwatched. You should watch the back episodes, and then become a fan, and then encourage all those you know and love to become fans as well. Because I’m so afraid this show is going to get canceled. Neil Patrick Harris is brilliant in this show. You will love it. Perfect amounts of clever, subversive, boozy, sweet and neurotic.

    Reply
  9. jb

    I got strep throat about two months ago, and for three days, I stayed in bed and watched all three seasons of Arrested Development on hulu.

    I also love It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

    Reply
  10. Robot Dancers

    I. Love. Bones.

    Love it.

    I’ve never heard of hulu but I will check it out tonight.
    Arrested Development is good but I was never able to watch the series from the beginning. Maybe I’ll be able to do that now.

    Reply
  11. Maureen

    Never heard of hulu and am almost wary of tracking it down! I get so much more stuff done without having the tv to distract me! (I also grew up without cable ~ maybe our parents were in cahoots?!)

    Reply
  12. Sara

    Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you! I love to watch TV while I’m crocheting, and now that the cat has turned the couch into a giant diaper (long story; we’re seeing a behaviorist about this in about an hour), neither of us wants to sit in the living room at all anymore. (This will change after we dispose of the couch — or figure out how to effectively steam-clean it. We have the steam cleaner, but perhaps not the skill. We will find out. It’s all a very big, very stupid adventure.)

    Reply
  13. Kizz

    If you think you love Neil Patrick Harris now I suspect that watching HIMYM will be akin to being born sightless and having your sight magically restored. You didn’t even know this sort of loving NPH was possible until now! I’m a Capricorn so I’m of course going to advocate watching it all in order from the very beginning but I will say that, while I always loved NPH’s character it has gotten better and better as the eps have gone on.

    Meegan, never fear, HIMYM has been renewed for next year. I think we’re safe for a bit! The writers have sure been helping by writing home run eps ever since the strike.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

