Tugboat and barge

So yeah, I have sort of felt like Jack Handey or a dime store philosopher lately, or at least like one of the kids from South Park (“You know, I think we’ve learned something today, guys…”), but anyway, I’m in a somewhat musing mood these days.  This morning’s no different.  I’m looking out the window of the conference room where I’m working, and there’s a big but not huge barge headed up harbor.  Except he’s not– he’s been stationed in the inlet, right in my line of sight, since I got to work two hours ago.  There’s a little tugboat alongside, and they’re just sitting there.  I couldn’t understand it– until I looked closer, and watched the water belowdecks.  The tide is still going out– hard.  Those boats aren’t standing still– they’re heading upstream, the best they can.  They may be standing still from my viewpoint, but on deck, it’s different– they may not be going forward, yet, but they’re resisting going backwards with all their might.

8 thoughts on “Tugboat and barge

  1. bipolarbear

    “they may not be going forward, yet, but they’re resisting going backwards with all their might.”

    My god, woman, you’ve just described what I aspire to. I’m putting this quote on my sidebar, attributed to BLC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

