If things go well

I needed some wandering-around time after work today, before I caught the subway home, and was quickly reminded why working nowhere near a shoe store has been a good idea. Maybe if I think of it as a shoe museum, where I can try on the art, I’ll be less tempted to buy. Nah.

What I was tempted to buy, and might still if tomorrow’s callback goes well:

Hot, right? I have so many suits these would go with. And so many dresses I could buy, too. Just thinking of the coordinating and shopping possibilities stiffens my resolve to blow them away. As if unemployment weren’t enough motivation.

These, however, I won’t buy, no matter what– but I had to try them on:

I couldn’t even stand up in them, but how often do I see something like these in a size 9 1/2? (And no, I’m not 6’5″, I just have big feet.) I had to try them on. I briefly entertained thoughts of gold or copper lame boleros and black satin tank dresses (the BH has got to be cringing as he reads this), but I don’t have anyplace to wear something so outrageous. Or would I? Ok… I’ll make a deal– if all goes well and I get the job, I will buy them to go for my very first karaoke during BlogHer in July if one of you will go to karaoke with me!

16 thoughts on “If things go well

  1. Michelle

    I have a 9 1/2 shoe as well….I could never ever wear those 2nd shoes I would break my neck. The first pair are very sassy though I love them!

    Reply
  2. Tara

    Oh, you’re just like my Mom! Nothing, um, “flashy” for her….

    The only things is, they are NOT flashy. They are great and would go with just about anything. Come, on be contemporary….They just have to “peek” out over the top of your pants. Hey, you would be noticed and make a statement at the same time.

    But this is coming from a gal who feels quite comfortable in red cowboy boots.

    Reply
  3. Melanie

    I would ABSOLUTELY rip up the karaoke with you, shoes or no shoes. Do you know “Midnight Train to Georgia” well? How are your Pip skills?

    Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be going BlogHer. I can still scarcely explain the blog to my nearest and dearest.

    Reply
  4. rosie

    Shoes are such objects of fantasy arent they? I have bought two pairs in the last couple of years that I have found impossible to wear (too high too uncomfortable…) but they made me feel like someone I would like to be when I tried them on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

