Love Thursday

My dad and I get along like gangbusters now, and I’m fortunate that he and the BH like and respect each other. That said, he’s sometimes of a melancholy/quiet/taciturn/curmudgeonly disposition, so we often go on nature walks with a particular goal in mind, so there’s something to talk about or organize ourselves and our conversation around. Since dad’s a natural teacher, too, it gives him something to talk about and speculate about. Sometimes we bring the field guides, but I always bring my camera, so there’s something to use as a reference when looking things up later.

Last Sunday was a walk to Jamaica Plain’s Arnold Arboretum, and the goal was pussy willows and witch hazel. It being an Arboretum, there were multiple samples, of course. But when I look at these photos, I don’t just see the interesting differences among plants.

I don’t just wonder anew at the variety of nature.

I also rejoice that I’m able to go for walks with my sometimes grouchy father, who’s long since made amends for any harm he did oh, so long ago.

Happy Love Thursday.

21 thoughts on “Love Thursday

  1. Michelle

    Wow I live quite near the Arboritum as well…..although I have never been there – I think I might have to check it out and bring my camera as well.

    Reply
  2. Robot Dancers

    Dads rock socks!

    I’ve always wanted to go to an arboretum but I’ve never been able to find one.
    Maybe I will look them up on the internets today and see if there are any near me.

    Reply
  3. magpie

    Sweet.

    For years, I had nearly nothing to do with my father. Until his second wife kicked him out and he was once again available. It’s a good thing, now.

    Reply
  4. mike golch

    I know someone just like the Dad you describe both my late Father and My late Father in law were that way.there were walls up between them and family. 1984 father’s day I mananged to tear down that wall between Dad an I.It was the last one we had together. in 2005 my father-in law passed away.he was a battle hardened soldier who saw action in Afirica and in Anzio beach and Inland battles.That service in WW11 had scared him for life and he became an alcoholic,a sad and bitter man,who suffered from that combat stress.It was only in the last years of his life that him and I were able to become friends.
    I think what I’m trying to say is Enjoy haveing your Dad around for I know you will miss him when he is gone.I know that I miss my Dad,and even my Father-in-law also.

    Reply
  5. Angelina

    I love pussy-willows. The last picture looks especially like a fun specimen!

    I’d like to have developed something neutral and pleasant to do with either of my dads too. Now I live too far from either to do anything about it.

    It sounds like you had a great walk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

