Yippee! and a request…

Yippee! I’ve been flirting with the idea of non-legal freelance writing, and two weeks ago bit the bullet and sent out two different story pitches to two different publications. The first publication just contacted me and said they like my idea! I’m gonna be a real, live author! Of course, if I get paid at all it’ll probably be bus fare, but I don’t care, I’m just so thrilled that someone liked my query.

and a request…

A week ago I caught an ad in the paper for a job that would be perfect for me. I actually worked at (a different location of ) this place before, when I was first out of law school, and know the person responsible for hiring fairly well. The position is a higher-level version of the position I held there years ago, and it’d be such a welcome change of pace from what I’ve been doing. They called this morning to set up an interview for tomorrow morning, so if you could please send all the “Hire her! She’s awesome! Don’t even bother interviewing anyone else!” vibes my way, I’d appreciate it.

Update:  Thank you SO much for all your good vibes.  I felt like I floated through the interview on a sea of well wishes.  I was pleasantly surprised that one of the interviewers was someone who’d overseen me there before, so it was a very comfortable interview for me.  They’re hoping to fill the position in the next month or so, so any second interview with the more senior interviewers will happen fairly shortly.  

20 thoughts on “Yippee! and a request…

  1. amy

    That is great news doll. I just got a big fat rejection today from a magazine query…my first attempt and my first rejection…So, If you shed a tear for me…i will do a jig for you. Yr so gonna get that job. 🙂

    Reply
  2. lorraine

    You must be positively vibrating! I found some good karma in a drawer and that is for you too. You should definitely get the job.

    Reply
  3. Angelina

    And I didn’t even get to wish you luck. Well, I’m really happy to hear that it went well! I hope you hear back from them soon!

    And CONGRATULATIONS on the accepted query!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

