Round things fry-fest, 2007-2008

On New Year’s Eve this (past?) year we took it easy. Our friend L. came over, and we had a little festival of frying.

First, though, a toast, the first of several, to the new year, with some “Il” Prosecco and raspberries. Fancied up cheap champagne? That’s how we roll.

In the background on the right, you may observe some Homemade Applesauce. Damn. I should make it all the time. Not only did I use up all my Boston Organics apples, but it was so tasty and so much better (and less sugary) than the supermarket thing.

Next was something I didn’t get a picture of, because we ate them so fast. Riffing on a fresh tuna patty recipe in Jamie Oliver’s “Jamie’s Italy,” I mixed together a can of tuna with 2 tbsp. chopped capers, the zest and juice of a lemon, the finely chopped needles of two rosemary sprigs, an egg, and enough gluten free breadcrumbs to make a stiff batter. The first batch I flattened into patties and baked in the oven at 400F. These were great, but the next batch, fried in olive oil, was even better. I served these with a squeeze of lemon. My only regret is that we didn’t make more.

Next was chicken patties, adapted from Nigel Slater’s “The Kitchen Diaries.”

These were AWESOME, if I do say so myself. The recipe is wicked simple… it’s just (boneless, skinless) chicken thighs, processed until ground with pancetta cubes, chopped fresh rosemary, lemon zest, onion, and a little bit of olive oil and parmesan, enough to make the mixture moist but coherent. Then, I fried them in olive oil. The original recipe called for baking them with a bit of chicken broth, which I did the first time, but really? They were better fried. (And what isn’t?)

Next? Spicy carrot latkes.

These were very, very simple. First, I asked the Better Half to peel and grate the carrots in the food processor. Then, I asked him to dress the grated carrots with salt, pepper, cumin, and cayenne. The hard part done, I then bound the carrots with egg and chickpea flour, and fried dollops of the carrot mix in canola oil. I served these with a mayo that I’d doctored with soy sauce, lime juice, and fresh chopped cilantro.

And last, but not least, the traditional potato latke. I come from Irish and Norwegian stock, so my love for the potato is exceeded only by my love for beef and cheese. And lemon zest. But that’s a story for another day.

Again, I imposed upon the Better Half to peel and grate the potatoes and an onion. My Cuisinart got quite the workout. Then, I asked him to generously salt the potatoes. They turned an ucky brown from the oxidation, but don’t worry, it doesn’t affect the flavor. I drained off the liquid the salt drew off the potatoes, and then added an egg and rice flour, stirring to combine until it made a coherent batter. I then fried them in canola oil until dark golden on both sides.

The final result?

Yum-delicious. And, the carrots and potatoes were also from the Boston Organics box, so I got to use up some of my allotment.

I especially recommend the non-meat meatballs. As we were eating them, I kept thinking “Fried protein patties of all kinds make me happy. I need to do this more!” However, we three were sooooo sleepy that we barely made it to midnight. Those latkes were sinkers, not floaters. Maybe I should have served a salad on the side. But I think the applesauce should count, right?

26 thoughts on “Round things fry-fest, 2007-2008

  1. Meegan

    Good Lord does this sound like a delicious feast. I’m with Anne, and I’ll even spring for a good bottle of champers if there’s a meal like this to be had!

    Reply
  2. Camellia

    fat goes straight to the pleasure center of your brain, makes you feel safe and coddled. Oh, fried, oh, yum, oh, fried happiness with homemade applesauce.

    Reply
  3. phd girl

    My portable hair dryer museum is a good place mainly because I have great appliance links, like extreme ironing for one—-once you have done extreme ironing, it is the ONLY ironing you will ever want to do.

    Reply
  4. chedwick

    I have never triedputting berries in my champagne, and I should have thought of it– my sister introduced me to a drink with a slice of fresh peace in it once –I think it was a Bellini… I wonder if it had champagne in it– anyway, there is always Valentine’s day right around the bend– fruit and campagne for me!

    Reply
  5. She She

    The food looks delicious. Mmmmmmmmmmm…

    The glass with the raspberries in it? Doesn’t it look like the raspberries are looking at you? (Am I the only one who sees this?)

    Reply
  6. bleeding espresso

    Applesauce recipe please! They don’t even sell it here, so I’ve been looking for a tried and true recipe as I’ve been wanting some for a *long* time.

    Feel free to send your favorite recipe to my inbox when time permits 😉

    Reply
  7. Melanie

    I wondered when you were going to talk about this.

    Alas, I cannot make proper latkes (or anything fried, really) because my stove hood broke and is now gone. If I try, I smoke us all out of the house.

    I’ll live vicariously through you.

    Reply
  8. Just Me

    Back before you were reading (I am pretty sure) I spent the first month or so of my manic episode this fall cooking and freezing. Anything I could chop kept me happy. I made gallons upon gallons of soup, 47 pints of green beans, around 30 pints of spaghetti sauce, and 15 pints of applesauce. I made the applesauce with Splenda and have been absolutely amazed at how good it is with no more calories than the apples had. The only thing is that I learned that a paring knife isn’t the best thing to weild when manic–I cut 4 fingers on the same hand.

    Reply
  9. savia

    I would loooove to come to your place for dinner. Damn!

    Thanks also for the links to the soup – I’m excited about making it this weekend. Let’s hope I can do it justice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

