Grace, personified

(Scene opens)

Woman enters waiting room of a medical professionals’ office from the area where the suite tenants practice.

The woman has her fleece jacket draped over one arm, her shoulderbag dangling from the other.  A shock of hair at the front of her face falls out of the updo, right into her eyes.  She trips on her own shoes, falling forward.  She catches herself from planting face-first in the lap of the man sitting on one of the sofas in the waiting area.  However, she drops her bag, and sees something jump from it like a lemming from a cliff.  She untangles herself from the bag, puts it down.  She puts her coat down on the floor.  She kneels to look under the chair, next to the sofa where the man is sitting, to see what fell out of her bag.

Her hair falls into her eyes again.  She swears, under her breath, and pushes the lock back behind her ear.  She bends forward, looking this way and that.  No sign of whatever fell.  She gets back up, takes her bag and jacket over to the chair.  She starts pulling stuff out of her bag, to take inventory.  Pens, pencil, journal, to-do list, calendar, camera, lip balm, wallet, cell phone, ear bud, car keys.  Everything seems to be here.  She must’ve been imagining whatever she saw.  She puts on her jacket, slings the bag over her shoulder, and takes a step backward, to position herself to exit the suite.  Her right foot comes down on something, slides off it, twists.  She lands on her behind.  Her hair flops down in her face again.

All this time, the man sitting on the sofa has been silently reading his paper.  He hasn’t been overtly watching this debacle of gravity, as far as she can tell.  She gathers the wisps of her dignity remaining, gets up off the floor, looks around to see what she stepped on.  It’s a hair clip.  “That’s where it went,” she thought, as she bent forward to pick it up.  She clips back the errant forelock with the miscreant clip as she pushes her bag back up her shoulder, from which it has fallen.  Again.

She turns around, and walks into the chair.  She backs up, opens the door, and exits the office of her psychotherapist.   “I really have to ask her to add a physical therapist to the mix,” she thinks.  Amazingly, she makes it down the stairs and out to the parking lot without injury.

11 thoughts on “Grace, personified

  1. chedwick

    ah… beautifully written–I felt like I was there, pretending not to notice… this type of thing has happened to me — I always get my purse strap caught on the stick shift, close the car door on my coat, bump into chairs, and my daily fave: trying to pull open a PUSH door that is clearly marked PUSH. oh and trying to get the metrocard machine to give me a metrocard when there is a huge sign on it that says Out of Order.

    Reply
  2. Lorraine

    I was once leaving my psychiatrist’s office and thought that the door out of her office was heavier than it actually was, so I pulled hard to open it. Apparently it wasn’t so heavy after all and it slammed open into the wall. The entire staff came running to subdue the out of control patient. Who turned out to be me, just trying to open a door.

    Reply
  3. Al

    This is something that would happen to me, except I wouldn’t be able to write about it so eloquently nor would I have handled the situation with that much grace. Kudos to you.

    I fell the other day while running. A total rookie move. I think I tripped on a grain of sand…

    Reply
  4. masterofirony

    I tripped over my 90 year old patient’s wheelchair yesterday and he had to put a hand up to prevent me from falling into his lap. In front of his daughter. Right after I gave a big speech about how I know what I’m doing helping him regain strength and balance.

    Oops.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Whitterer on Autism » Blog Archive » Madz Skills Award

Leave a Reply

