Information Update

  1. Effexor XR withdrawal headaches suck, even when I’m managing my titration with my shrink. They feel like someone applied a vise to the back of my head. Yay, Excedrin Migraine!
  2. Propel, V8, and Yogi Tea’s Get Regular Tea seem to be handling my hydration problems quite well. Thanks to all who commented.
  3. Still home from work, still figuring things out. But, if I have been a little stalkerish in my email and/or comments lately, please chalk it up to the lack of human contact, accept my apologies and please (please!) keep up your wonderful, funny, insightful comments.
  4. Lamictal dreams are more fun than lithium dreams. Lithium dreams are weird, but boring.
  5. I was able to speak with my mother’s erstwhile shrink, and he confirmed that she did, in fact, call to make an appointment next Tuesday at 1 pm. He also took my number down on the front of her chart, and promised to call me if she no-shows. Considering that this is the blessed man who called me back on New Year’s Day, I’m hopeful that he might be able to “gently suggest” some common sense into her. He gave me 10 minutes, and we discussed my concern that if she would not stabilize herself, that we would have to get the Dept. of Mental Health involved. He agreed they would be better off doing it than me or my brother, and told me that they have an Elder Unit with caseworkers specifically used to dealing with elder issues. He also agreed that her underlying personality disorder(s) might be a sufficient basis for services, and that he would also discuss the possibility of social security disability with her, as a means of supplementing her income. Love him. Not as much as the Better Half, Viggo Mortensen, or Hugh Jackman, but close.
  6. After a post by Angelina about making yogurt cheese, and its success, I am going to make ricotta and/or mozzarella this weekend. My friend L., who’s always game for a culinary experiment, is going to come over. I will do my best to come up with a PictoBrowser-worthy recipe.
15 thoughts on “Information Update

  1. nyjlm

    Ok, number 5? omg! totally amazing man- can we clone him? And I know just who the first clone should come and visit. Seriously, he sounds like a freaking dreamboat. Maybe I could kidnap my uncle and move him to California to be near this man?

    It makes my day to hear this- I’m so happy for you. I know the road will still be long for her (and you, your brother), but this is wonderful news.

    Reply
  2. Janet

    Ooooh, Yogi Tea! I loved the regular kind and the Organic Egyptian Licorice is something I’ve been wanting to try.

    Good luck with your Mom πŸ™‚

    Did you know Viggo was in NH this weekend, stumping for his political candidate of choice?

    Ooooh, culinary experiments! Love it! Can’t wait to hear how it goes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. michael golch

    Good luck w/your mom.I know she can get on your nerves,But Please treasure her,when she is gone you will miss her.I say this from wxperience.My Mom used to drive me up the wall also.She passed away in Sept of 2003,I donot miss the crazieness but I truely miss he though. My dad Passed away in 1984 of a heart attack he was only 58 when he died but I still mis him as well.
    God Bless and guide your Mom to wellness.Mike Golch

    Reply
  4. Linda

    So didja switch coz of all the cool stuff that’s easier to do in wordpress? Coz that’s totally why I’m thinking about switching. You have no lack of human contact – we’re human – we invisible friends here… at least I think we are!

    I love someone who can use erstwhile in a sentence.

    Reply
  5. mrsgatt

    I’m glad that you are feeling better, but the headaches sound pretty miserable. Yay for Yogi tea.

    You are always welcome to stalk me. As a fellow suffer of more than occasional insomnia, we are probably often crossing each other on the information highway in the wee hours of the night.

    Can’t wait to hear about the cheese. I happen to love cheese.

    Reply
  6. Dory

    Had to substitute Lexapro for Wellbutrin for a few months due to a med supply nightmare. Effects of getting on, using, and coming off Lexapro actually contributed to me losing a job. It totally sucked ASS.

    Reply
  7. Angelina

    I’ve been really enjoying the comments you’ve been leaving!

    I want a clone of that doctor too. I really hope for the best case scenario with your mom. It sounds like you have a great advocate on your mom’s (and consequently on your) side.

    Obviously you know how I look forward to hearing about the cheese making because I’m terrified of moving to the next cheese making step!

    Reply
  8. Grandy

    Like the new look to your site!! Looks refreshing!!

    Regarding item #3…if you feel like stalking, but need a place to hide, you come over my way any time. I’ll shelter you. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

