Bloggingversary? Blogiversary? Blog birthday?

Whatever you call it, today’s it. A year ago, I decided that maybe I’d feel a little saner and a little more creatively fulfilled if I journaled out in the open. I expected the blogging forum to give me a visible produce that would keep me accountable, and would make me stay interested in the project. One year and 562 posts later, it’s been ever so much more.

I hoped but didn’t really expect that I’d have some commenters. I thought I’d do more writing about being a lawyer than I did. I hoped that the blog would give me the inspiration to do some cooking projects. Well, I’ve mostly been documenting what I cook– but that’s been worth it, since it turns out, looking back, that I am a pretty good cook. I never thought I’d become a food blogger– I just don’t have enough clean dishes or a dishwasher to churn out regular food posts, and there are so many other things I wanted to write about. And I’ve written less about being a lawyer for a number of reasons– first, I didn’t want to get dooced, and while I would draft posts about things that happen, I never found a way to sanitize the posts and have them still make sense, or seem funny, or have a point. Second, though, I’ve been disenchanted with my workplace and my area of law, and I wanted this blog to be a mostly positive space. Better to leave my bitching to therapy. And third, I’ve become less interested in my lawyer career, and more interested in writing as my avocation– so I got more interested in writing about other things.

I never set any goals or schedules for when I would post about what, and with the exception of NaBloPoMo, I rarely used memes. When I was feeling stuck I would either not post, or post a picture, or post a link to someone else. I need to come up with some creative ways to post something creative. But I’m also thinking that I’d like to make cooking a more consistent them this year, and am contemplating a series of posts about cooking tips & tricks, cooking basics, pantry staples, and my favorite pieces of kitchen equipment, assuming I can keep my act together. What would you like to see? More pictures? More cranky complaints about the legal system? Pictures of the back of the Better Half’s head?

I also became completely obsessed with my digital camera, and got totally snap-happy. I started an account at FlickR, and a photo blog to document the changing of the seasons at Boston’s Arnold Arboretum. Some of my FlickR contacts have been kind enough to stop by to visit here, and some of you have stopped by my photostream there as well. I also upgraded to a higher class of point and shoot camera– who knows, maybe next year I will move on to a digital SLR.

On the writing front, I feel more sane this time around than I did last year. The writing has been cathartic, but more so the response! I never anticipated that so many of you would share your time, your thoughts, your experiences, your humor with me, and I’m a richer person because of it. So many of you have shared so much, both in comments and in private emails, that I learned something I’ve known but never before felt– I’m not alone. And neither are you, as long as I can blog and visit your sites. Thank you.

I started reading Real Mental after seeing a post by LeahPeah about it over her site, and not too long afterward, volunteered to be a contributor. That has since evolved into a weekly post, which has been rewarding in many of the same ways as writing here. But while I hope that this blog is a place where everyone feels safe commenting their Truth, I know that Real Mental is a safe space to read, to comment, and to feel part of a community– the writers there span the spectrum of mental illness, from caregivers to fellow patients (and often both). The Truths they have to share, and the eloquent way in which the Real Mental writers express themselves humble me, and make me thankful for the gifts that they share.

I’ve been contemplating some physical changes to the site for the past month or so, and may even move hosts. I haven’t to this point had any ads on this site, since Blogger’s a free host and I didn’t need to pay for server costs, but some of the things I’d like to do with the site in the next year may come with a price tag, so we’ll see.

I have some ideas what the future will bring, but this last year has shown me that the unexpected can be wonderful. I hope you’ll continue to take the journey with me.

23 thoughts on “Bloggingversary? Blogiversary? Blog birthday?

  1. Mrs. Chicken

    It’s great that your part of this world. I love getting a glimpse into your world, and it gives me my Boston fix, at the same time.Maybe one day we can meet up when I’m on Cape Cod.Happy day!

    Reply
  2. Terra Incognita

    I don’t comment much, but I do read. I don’t mention my bipolar much, but I do have a blog. I’ve only been diagnosed since August, and I’ve struggled. But I’m hoping I can open up a bit more. Thanks for being “out” there.

    Reply
  3. Emilija

    I just discovered your blog. I hope to get inspired to do more cooking from this site! I’m a bipolar/occupational therapist/wannabe cook.

    Reply
  4. BipolarLawyerCook

    Terra Incognita and Emilija, thanks for your comments! Please feel free to email my offline if there’s something you don’t want to put in comments.

    Reply
  5. Squirrel

    congrats on your anniversary! i have become more snap happy than i was previously since blogging. it is an affliction now.

    Reply
  6. krishanna

    I’m in! Sorry I’ve been MIA… been getting back on schedule. Thans for e-mailing.. I am SOOOO glad you liked your goody! XO- Krishanna

    Reply
  7. Mike Golch

    Well Happy Bloggingversary.I enjoy reading the blogs of the people that I run into.I even enjoyed Common Ties untill they anounces the changes thet are being done.The thing that I liked about the C.T. was finding the stories that really spoke to me and helped me get through the day,and shareing with the writers and the readers parts of myself in order to show shared experiences.But then i can get long winded in my comments as I’m doing here.My Bad

    Reply
  8. Meegan

    Happy Blogiversary! I’m glad I found you. I think I found you through your postings on Real Mental because I also read LeahPeah. I’ve been thinking about posting on Real Mental myself. I don’t have a blog, but I can’t stop thinking about starting one. The question is, am I ready to be that honest? And that OUT as a bipolar woman/wife/mother? Undecided. Somehow I went off on a bit of a tangent here. Huh. Anyway, I like the food aspect of your blog as well as the universe of crazy. Thanks for sharing, being honest and keeping it real.

    Reply
  9. Melanie

    How did we meet up? I can’t even remember, which is kind of sad since it was mere months ago.At any rate, I’ve really enjoyed your thoughtful site, your fine food, and your photography. I hope to keep enjoying you well into the next year and, yes, that sounds kind of dirty. So sue me.

    Reply
  10. Mrs. G.

    Happy Happy. I look forward to a rocking 2008 over here. I think you strike a wonderful balance of profession, personal and, have mercy, FOOD.

    Reply
  11. Jen

    Happy Blogoversary! I’m so glad to have found your blog and am looking forward to many more years (?!) of posting. Yay!

    Reply
  12. Angelina

    I am a nosy person and therefor love to read blogs that cover all of a person’s various interests. So, cooking, mental health, photos, random thoughts, stories, bitch sessions, music….bring it all on! I like the look of your new blog.

    I have to say too that the RealMental site has been so wonderful because there aren’t very many places to go where you can let your brain hang out in all it’s splendor and feel comfortable- that you are in a safe place and that most or all of the people there have a pretty good idea what life with mental illness is all about.

    Congratulations on the anniversary of your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

