Refueling

So… I am taking some time off from work, and have my baking and other projects all mapped out, but, I desperately need to rent some silly and/or ridiculously romantic movies to watch while enjoying the fruits of my baking. I have seen anything Steve Martin’s ever been in, and have seen the only Ben Stiller movies worth seeing (Zoolander and Mystery Men). So, what do you recommend? I haven’t seen Talladega Nights or Superbad. I do need to rent the last 8 episodes of Firefly. I’ve watched all of Charmed and Buffy. Any other series I shouldn’t miss?

I’m really open to anything, though, as long as it’s not a kick in the head like Dancer in the Dark or The Piano, or romanticizes irresponsible behavior, like The English Patient.

25 thoughts on “Refueling

  1. Who She She

    I haven’t seen it, but the Flight of the Conchords series looks promising. Just saw Knocked Up, against my will, and actually liked it. Ditto 40 Year Old Virgin. (I’m adding Steve Carell to my 5 people I can sleep with list).

    Reply
  2. alejna

    Oh, this is the sort of request that makes me want to rummage through our DVD collection. A quick look/thought gives the following list of fun, funny and/or silly movies:1. Wet Hot American Summer: a terribly silly movie about summer camp with Janeane Garofalo. (I love Janeane.)2. Cold Comfort Farm: The one starring Kate Beckinsale. It’s a funny and pleasant movie.3. The Hudsucker Proxy: A Cohen brothers movie with Tim Robbins.4. Best in Show: You’ve probably seen this, but if not, I strongly recommend it. It never fails to make me laugh.

    Reply
  3. Melanie

    Superbad is pure, heartwarming filth. Very funny.FOR SURE watch Firefly.Have you tried Angel yet? It’s a little mopier than Buffy, but good.How about Veronica Mars? It has qualities very similar to Buffy, but without the often dour and pinched-faced Sarah Michelle Gellar. And no vampires, obviously.Freaks and Geeks?Big Love?

    Reply
  4. andrea_frets

    TV: Weeds. I love Love LOVE Mary Louise Parker (total girl crush).Movie: Love Actually. I could watch it 4,976 times and not get sick of it.

    Reply
  5. Poet with a Day Job

    Shawshank Redemption and Scrooged. The first always makes me cry, and feel hope for humanity, while the second makes me laugh my ass off and feel hope for humanity.

    Reply
  6. Mrs. Chicken

    Oh my God you HAVE to watch ‘the man with two brains’ with Steve Martin. A goofy classic with Kathleen Turner, no less!

    Reply
  7. Meegan

    40 Year Old VirginKnocked UpWedding CrashersBest In ShowTV:WeedsVeronica Mars (love that snappy dialog!)Angel (agree w/ the mopey comment, and it totally jumps the shark in the last season, but still good)Gilmore Girls (LOVE!!!)

    Reply
  8. Marci B.

    Did you watch LOST? The UK version of The Office (I plan to do this one while in my own recovery). Wet Hot American Summer is great, so I echo that one. let us know what you choose 🙂

    Reply
  9. Camellia

    Definitely the last 8 episodes of Firefly…I thought it only had 8 episodes, and then there’s Serenity. Mostly Martha…a reading movie about love and cooking. In Her Shoes.

    Reply
  10. Anali

    Have you seen “Christmas In The Clouds?” I loved it! I’d like to buy it actually. It’s a real Christmas classic.

    Reply
  11. Jen

    Have you seen the new Doctor Who series? I believe the first two seasons are available to rent on Netflix. Doctor Who ROCKS! Also, Superbad was definitely a movie wrth watching. Also, Hot Fuzz was really good, but I’m not sure how silly it was.Enjoy your vacation! 🙂

    Reply
  12. Keetha

    Love Actually! Love Actually! The best fluffy romantic comedy holiday movie evah. So says me. I loves me some Alan Rickman.

    Reply
  13. Krishanna Spencer

    Uhm… Big Daddy, Click, SPanglish or Home for the Holidays or The Philadelphia Story, Bringing Up Baby, Holiday Inn, Bad Santa…That’s all I can think of.

    Reply
  14. Irish Goddess

    For hilarious tv, try Arrested Development. Smartly written stupid humor. As for romance, I’m no help. I’m all about the bad boys and irresponsible behavior. Enjoy the time away from work!

    Reply
  15. saraarts

    Have you seen the animated series The Tick? Heck, have you seen the live action series The Tick? The animated series is far better, and besides it’s just image after image of good artwork, so start there if you can. The live action series is a little bit dumbed down for a broader audience, but still quite amusing.I also strongly recommend the hilarious series The Venture Brothers.For romance, the best Jane Austen adaptation ever, ever, ever (IMNSHO) is the version of Persuasion starring Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds. Also with Ben Stiller, do check out Keeping the Faith, which I loved a lot more than Zoolander.Thank you for appreciating Firefly (and I hope you also saw the movie, Serenity), Mystery Men (which few people seemed to understand, to our profound shock), and for recognizing the fatal flaw of The English Patient (aka Ode to Self-Absorption: It’s Pretty When You’re Pretty).

    Reply
  16. jess

    if you’re looking for a good series, check out “Dead Like Me.” it rocks and i think you’d like it. unfortunately, it wasn’t renewed and so it DOES leave several unanswered questions. but it’s FAB.i LOVE the notebook. and i LOVE serendipity. i still have NOT seen season 7 of buffy. i need to finish that up and be done with that chapter of my life.

    Reply
  17. Camellia

    I am back. Movies. I just watched Fanny and Alexander for the third time, and wanted to watch it again immediately. And I am still pushing Mostly Martha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

