Franklin Park Zoo

The Franklin Park Zoo in Boston is not a world-class zoo. But it’s not depressing, either, and it’s just the right size for getting an eyeful without becoming exhausted. And, they have two kinds of zebras, Grevy’s Zebras and Plains Zebras, as well as giraffes (and baby giraffes!), gorillas (and baby gorillas!), lions, tigers, leopards, camels, and more. They have an indoor tropical rainforest, an outback area with Australian animals, and some good, educational signs. Every year, admission is free the day after Thanksgiving. I took some pictures when we went the other day. Enjoy.

10 thoughts on “Franklin Park Zoo

  1. Amy Turn Sharp

    I like the pics- The lion is beautiful- but i have such an irrational fear of them- so strange..but I am terrifed of tigers and lions…It is a weird thing. What kind of camera do you use?

    Reply
  2. BipolarLawyerCook

    Amy, I have a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3, with a Leica Lens. It’s a jumped-up point and shoot, with more options than the Elph I had, but not so complex like a digital SLR to make my head spin. I call it my “gateway camera.” It’s not expensive in a relative sense, and I love it.

    Reply
  3. Linda

    Oh honey, it’s not a zoo unless it has monkeys. Lot’s of monkeys…Well, OK, we can cound the ringtailed lemur – it’s in the general family.Oh, and by the way, I’m commenting on your comment to Mrs. G – OMG YES, YES YES to Viggo! Some men should probably be bottled for perscription use only!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

