Thanksgiving

When we gather around the Thanksgiving table, we say grace. Grace for the things for which we are grateful. Thanks for the things and the people that grace our lives. Thanks for the state of grace that allows us to keep going, through the good times and the bad.

Today I am grateful to be graced with so many people who listen. The photo above is a picture of some hurricane glasses given to me for my birthday this year by my very good friend L. They’re gorgeous, aren’t they? I love the optic glass lines, I love their height and proportions. And they look great on my mantel, which was previously decorated by a hodge-podge of stuff. (Not a big decorator here, unless stacks of books on every surface counts.)

The gracious thing these glasses embody is the art of Listening. I had dinner with the BH at another friend’s house before Halloween, in 2006. He is a Martha Stewart Plus, and had filled hurricane glasses with candles, surrounded by candy corn. I was so taken with that particular aspect of the decor, that I was gushing about it to L. the next time I saw her. L. remembered, and bought these glasses, well in advance of my birthday, hoping all the while that I would not buy some of my own in the meantime.

How amazing is it to have a friend who listens and remembers to buy something to please a friend almost a year ahead of time? How graced I am to have such thoughtful people in my lives. The BH, the same– I’d been rumbling about a hammock for a while, but then gave it a rest. He remembered, and got it for me. My best friend A., too, was talking with me about my current situation on the phone not too long ago, and reminded me of something that I’d said years ago, in college, that helped me re-frame part of the situation. She listened, and remembered.

Finally, thank you to all of you who, especially this last week, have read, have listened, and who have understood. I can tell you’ve understood, not just by this week’s fabulous site stats, which show me a higher percentage of return visitors than ever before ; ), but by the kind, generous, open, true, and encouraging comments you’ve left me. I’ve needed a lot of love lately, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart for giving it.

I am truly graced by friends who Listen, and I hope I can continue to return the favor. Happy Thanksgiving, friends.

10 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. bipolarbear

    Very nice hurricanes, and I love what you’ve done with them! I’ll have to remember the candy corn/candle trick for next year. Happy Thanksgiving.

    Reply
  2. jenB

    I am thankful for finding you as a friend. Your hurricane lamps look lovely and grace is something we should all incorporate into our lives, not neccessiarly the prayer, but the feeling and actions of grace.

    Reply
  3. Janet

    beautiful hurricane glasses, beautiful picture, fantastic story. Friends are necessary in life! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours 🙂

    Reply
  4. sognatrice

    Those are beautiful hurricane glasses and they look perfectly at home on your mantle Although the one on the far right looks like it might be in the mood for a stack of books nearby….Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    Reply
  5. Sara

    Stacks of books totally count. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.Oh, look, Meridith just said almost the exact same thing. Heh. I guess this tells you who your audience is. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

