A few (more) of my favorite things…

Mrs. G, chez Derfwad Manor, has dared me to post about a few of my favorite things, it being Friday, and favorite being alliterative with Friday and all… I’ve already posted this week about particular books and music and traits of friends, so here are some Genre favorites.

1. Nonfiction books about Stuff, not so much about People. Salt. Mauve. Uncommon Carriers. The Piano Shop on the Left Bank. Nonfiction is so much more interesting to me if it’s filtered through the lens of one particular thing, and then the movers and shakers around that thing are discussed as a corollary. Mark Kurlansky, Simon Winchester, and John McPhee are particular favorites.

2. Food and cooking. Duh. I am actually taking my first official cooking class on Dec. 1, because I hate most kinds of fish, and Helen over at Beyond Salmon is teaching a class that (I hope) might actually make me like fish more.

3. Any movie with Steve Martin, preferably comedies. But especially My Blue Heaven. “You are gonna melt all . . . dis. . . stuff….” Sigh.

4. Wine. Really, I’ll drink pretty much anything, as long as it’s not too tannic– so, no California Cabernets, Super Tuscans, or California Chardonnays. Otherwise, pour it out and get me a bendy straw! I like this site for new ideas, but I do also subscribe to Food & Wine. Lest you think I am a wicked wine snob, though, $15 is pretty much my maximum price point, and my favorite red, Abrazo Del Toro Riserva, is $6.00 at Trader Joe’s. But if you serve me expensive wine, no worries, I’ll drink that too.

5. Metal, hair metal, and grunge metal of the late 80s and early 90s. GnR is my absolute fave, but Bon Jovi is a close second. Queensryche? Def Lepard? Whitesnake? Yep. Seen ’em all in concert, had the t-shirts, lit the lighter. Metallica? Van Halen? Nine Inch Nails? Rage Against the Machine? Nirvana? Soundgarden? Them too. I am such a metalhead that I own the Audioslave and Velvet Revolver albums, created by refugees of many of the aforementioned groups. I can also probably sing along with every Motley Crue and Poison song issued between 1987 and 1994. The pot-fueled weekend arguments among my crowd (the National Honor Society, smoking weed in someone’s basement) was usually David Lee Roth v. Sammy Hagar, a battle for the ages, probably even more epic than Jesus v. Santa Claus.

And no, I am not going to tell you who I like better. It’d be like asking me to pick between my children. I love them both, in different ways.

8 thoughts on “A few (more) of my favorite things…

  1. Janet

    Have you read The Zen of Fish: The Story of Sushi, from Samurai to Supermarket by Trevor Corson? Great book.Also, just saw Van Halen 10/30 here in Boston…they were GREAT!!! I’m in the DLR camp, myself 🙂

    Reply
  2. nyjlm

    I can’t believe you’re not a fish eater! Mmmm. Me loves fish.LOL, I remember the DLR vs SH arguments in high school. I was not a huge metal fan, though I went through a Scorpions phase.

    Reply
  3. Keetha

    Dude! Loves me son GnR, Great White, Motely Crue. In fact, I saw Motely Crue in Memphis two years ago. I think I was the oldest person there, which was kind of a buzz kill.

    Reply
  4. Irish Goddess

    I loved your name even before I read your blog. Then you go and throw in No. 5. Now, I’m not a huge metal fan (never listed to VH without David Lee Roth) but the fact that YOU are, along with being a lawyer and a cook? Sigh. Mad crush on you. I love it when women smash expectations.

    Reply
  5. Mrs. G.

    I like Steve Martin too. Did you know he has a new book out about himself…actually his fiction is good too. I’m anxious to read it. Thanks for the wine link. I love wine but I feel like a deer-in-the-headlights when I’m standing in the wine section trying to pick one out.

    Reply
  6. Mary Ann

    While a wildly hormonal teenager, I moshed my way through a Nirvana concert. When Kurt threw himself OFF the stage into the middle of the mosh pit, I snagged a corner of his flannel shirt. I still own it. Sigh.

    Reply
  7. J Morgetron

    I love GnR too. I loooooove Chris Cornell and am more sad about Audioslave’s break-up than Chris Cornell is.I’ve seen Rage in concert too. I only wish I had seen Nirvana in concert before the demise of Cobain. Sammy Hagar rocks a shit ton harder than Roth, but Roth has that cheesy charm that Hagar lacks. Jesus V. Santa? I’m going to check that out right now.-J

    Reply

Leave a Reply

