Plans for Productivity

The office is closed today au cause de moving, so I’ve got a free pass to work at home. I am actually going to try to work at home– it’s going to be one of those lovely mild days of late fall with the curious limpid pearly air that only otherwise exists in early April. So I think I will set up the hammock on the porch, haul out my blankets and extension cords, and try to do some writing and reading done.

But I want to treat myself and make it feel like a day well spent. Since I’ve already been and back from my shrink’s (7 am appointments are a good day starter, surprisingly) and made some good resolutions as a result, I am also going to write a prospectus for a column I am thinking of pitching, and to get back on the horse when it comes to cover letters. The last time I was looking for a new job, I was careful not to beat myself up about committing to a certain benchmark each day. Instead, I set a by the week goal, and as long as I reached it, that was OK. It worked well enough, and I need to get back into that. I am also going to take some pictures, and do one, just one, load of laundry. Very virtuous.

And something with carrots. Soup first. I think carrot cake for the rest. Just because I’ve made up my mind to leave doesn’t mean I can’t make carrot muffins for Monday.

All before 6 pm, though. I have therapy then, and that will bookend my day, I hope.

2 thoughts on “Plans for Productivity

  1. nyjlm

    Hope the day went well. I had an up and down day, but overall it was good. I love roasted root veggies- carrots, potatoes, parsnips. mmmm.

    Reply
  2. Sara

    Mmmm, carrot soup.Also, do you have a juicer? If you like raw carrot juice, it’s very, very good for you and uses an amazing amount of carrots. And then I’ve heard of people using the sludgy bits left over for such pursuits as muffineering and cakery.Yummy. And orange!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

