Random notes from the last two days

It’s gonna get ugly if only four days in to three weeks of titrating off the Lamictal, my anxiety dreams are back already, two nights in a row. But, at least I can keep up with others’ NaBloPoMo posts, which is hard to do otherwise with company. And, at least my migraines are falling off.

Mom’s visit? So far, so good. I will even go so far as to say . . . nice. We went to the beach at Plum Island and then had lunch at the town seafood shack on Thursday. I took a ton of photos with my new camera, some of which my Mom directed. (“I want a close up of the cattails and another one of the sea grass.”) Yesterday was the day from hell, but at the end of the day we went over to the Museum of Fine Arts and saw an excellent exhibit about contemporary crafts, as well as one about jewelry by artists. Mom is a huge fan of jewelry and crafts, and while I wear way less jewelry and own far fewer crafts, I am a big fan of glass and wood craft, and a growing aficionado of fiber craft. Maybe I can get organized to post some links to some of the artists I liked later. Afterward, we went for Thai at our local place, which she loved. (She loves Thai anyway, but she was particularly impressed with this place.)

The Better Half is so good with my Mom. She adores him, and who wouldn’t, but he makes her laugh, and takes just the right tone.

I still haven’t gained back any of the weight I’ve lost, and it’s been a whole month. I think it’s a record.

Red sky at night, sailor’s delight/Red sky at morning, sailors take warning. The sky is a violent pre-dawn pink, presaging the Nor’easter we’re supposed to get later today. We were going to drive down to Mystic Seaport, since I’ve lived here all my life, and my mom lived here 40 plus years, and neither of us have been, but I don’t think walking around a seaport town and on and off ships is a good idea in the pouring cold rain.

I think the adrenaline from the anxiety dreams has died down, and I can try to get another few hours, now. Wish me luck.

5 thoughts on “Random notes from the last two days

  1. andrea_frets

    Sounds like a fun time with your mom! Mystic is such a pretty town. I visited it in college and it’s lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

