Boston Organics 10.16.07

This week, I added some add-ons: organic cage-free eggs, organic raw extra-sharp cheddar, RealPickles‘ dill pickles, sauerkraut (two, I love me some sour) and ginger carrots, and Nashoba Brook bakery’s 7 grain whole wheat bread. I’ve bought everything but the cheddar from other sources before, so I thought I’d do a little cost v. convenience comparison.

Also included: bananas, canteloupe (yeah, not local, welcome to winter in Boston), Empire apples, Anjou pears, cremini mushrooms, cauliflower, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, baby carrots, and delicata squash. I’m not a melon fan, but we’ve still got salami and piave, so maybe I’ll serve it with that, so that the salty fattiness can cut through the cloying melon.

5 thoughts on “Boston Organics 10.16.07

  1. BipolarLawyerCook

    I don’t know yet. I might make a risotto with it– delicata peels pretty easily. I’ve also got a pork tenderloin in the freezer, so maybe I’ll roast it or saute it with some onions and some of the apples or pears and some rosemary and lemon juice.

    Reply
  2. Andrea

    Yum! I love organic foods. And Boston (my husband grew up outside of Boston). When you saw raw cheddar cheese, what do you mean? andrea_fretshttp://frettingthesmallstuff.typepad.com

    Reply
  3. BipolarLawyerCook

    Andrea, the milk isn’t pasteurized before cheesemaking– but then it’s aged long enough that the USDA’s bacteria phobia is allayed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

